Gathering Western Hemlock tips – a refreshing power medicine.

Western hemlock tips – full of Vitamin C, electrolytes and vital energy.

Today it was wet and windy but I had a yearning for evergreen tree tips.  Most evergreen tree tips are packed with Vitamin C and are full of useful electrolytes.  They are antiseptic and anti-catarrhal so are excellent to take when you have a cold.

Maybe I had the beginnings of a cold, I’m not sure, but whatever the reason I really wanted to have fresh conifer tips in my tea so I went off to find some.  I was rewarded in my search by discovering a good patch of Western Hemlock natural regeneration, which had plenty of fresh lime green branch tips which I could gather.  I took a little from each tree so as not to harm any of them.

It is worth gathering some evergreen tree tips and drying them so that you can enjoy them as an infusion throughout the year.  You can choose Spruce, Fir, Douglas Fir or Hemlock.   All of these are power medicines.  Don’t be confused between the tree Hemlock and the poison hemlock which is an Umbellifera.   The tree Western Hemlock is Tsuga heterophylla and is most definitely not poisonous!

When you drink an infusion of these wonderful fragrant citrusy needly wonders you feel as though you are drinking in the vital energy of the tree.  It feels really good, I thoroughly recommend it!

To find out more about Myrobalan Clinic please visit www.myrobalanclinic.com

 

About myrobalanclinic

I am a registered medical herbalist who uses a unique approach combining Tibetan Medicine with Western Herbal Medicine. I love my job - it is so rewarding seeing people taking control of their health and feeling healthier and more positive. I like to think that I help people get more out of life.
This entry was posted in Herbal Harvesting Year, News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

