High Protein Cookies – Great To Refuel After Training

These high protein cookies may not look pretty but they are a perfect after training snack.

I practice a martial art called Shorinji Kempo.  Someday I will write a blog about that.  I travel a long distance for training, 38 miles (that’s 58 km) each way and I try to train twice a week.  The reason for this is that the nearest club is in Poole and having started practicing Shorinji Kempo while I was at University I don’t want to switch to another martial art.  I have tried, there are other clubs which are closer and other martial arts which are amazing, but for me it has to be Shorinji Kempo for its combination of Zen Buddhist ethics and balanced work out for the body and mind.

After training I have a 45 minute drive back home before I can get something to eat.  I know that the optimum time to take in protein after an intensive work out is within 30 minutes.  If you eat protein within this time window your body can make use of it to efficiently repair muscle damage.  If you don’t you are likely to have a longer recovery time and ache more than you should.

I should have realised years ago that I need to eat a high protein snack in the car on the way home if I am to speed up my recovery time.  Sadly this obvious fact seems to have passed me by and I have spent the last 10 years aching for days after training and thinking it was just me.  Until recently that is when my friend Niamh, a fellow Shorinji Kempo kenshi (that’s a student to non martial arts practitioners), told me about a recipe she found for high protein cookies.

Well I made them, with a few adaptations depending on the ingredients that I had available, and I must say they were delicious.  Having put them to the test I can honestly say that eating a couple of these on the way home from training has definitely speeded up my recovery time.  This means that when getting in and out of my chair during the course of my clinic the next day I don’t groan.  I am sure that this creates an overall better impression with my patients.  It certainly feels better!

So you will want to know how to make them:

You can vary the ingredients according to what you have in the cupboard, as long as you avoid carbohydrates.

Ingredients (makes 12 cookies)

  • 1/2 banana
  • 6 dates, pitted
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup almond or hazelnut butter
  • 2 tbsp shelled hemp seeds
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp ground psyllium husks
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 6 dried apricots, diced
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • desiccated coconut and ground almonds to get the right consistency about 1/2 cup

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350F and line a cookie sheet with baking paper
  • Blend the banana, dates, and eggs.  Once the dates are chopped pour into a medium sized bowl.
  • Add the remaining ingredients to the bowl and stir until mixed, adding enough ground almond and desiccated coconut to get a sticky dough.
  • Splodge the cookies onto cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes.
  • Allow to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack.

Splodgy tasty cookies to keep away post training aches.

They don’t look very pretty but they taste great and really do the job.  Why not make some for your post training snack?

To find out more about Myrobalan Clinic please visit www.myrobalanclinic.com

 

 

 

About myrobalanclinic

I am a registered medical herbalist who uses a unique approach combining Tibetan Medicine with Western Herbal Medicine. I love my job - it is so rewarding seeing people taking control of their health and feeling healthier and more positive. I like to think that I help people get more out of life.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to High Protein Cookies – Great To Refuel After Training

  1. Mike Lawson says:

    Brilliant Lucy – I dind’t know you practiced Shorinji Kempo!
    I kept seeing the flyers for the classes at Bournemouth Littledown Centre and it seemed a great Martial Art.
    I’ve trained in Wado Ryu Karate, Tae Kwondo, Aikido, Kickboxing, Tai Chi and even a little Ninjutsu but they generally only include some of the more mental / meditation aspects at a higher level of practice, and not as an integral part as Shorinji Kempo seems to.
    I’m well impressed!

  2. Hi Mike – I am glad that you are interested in Shorinji Kempo. I hope that you will pop down to try one of the training sessions with Sensei Russell at the Littledown Centre. Sensei Russell and his kenshi are a very friendly bunch. Different Senseis teach with a slightly different emphasis obviously and in Poole we have a short session of meditation during every class. Even without formal Zazen the training is considered to be a moving meditation and the idea is to leave one’s ego at the door of the dojo and practice mindfulness and consideration for one’s training partner throughout the class and beyond 🙂

  3. Mike Lawson says:

    Thanks Lucy. Where and when are the poole classes held ? – that might be nearer anyway. Will check it out after we’ve finished our house renovations and building Marianne’s skin care lab!

  4. Hi again Mike. Poole dojo training venues are at this link. http://www.shorinji.co.uk/poole/poole.html Mondays at 7.15pm and Thursdays at 7.00pm. Two different venues. I am sure that Sensei Peter would be delighted to explain more to you about the sessions if you contact him 🙂 Sounds like you are pretty busy at the moment. Hopefully see you at training sometime though!

Leave a Reply

